A Bit of Advice For a Newbie Please

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Reptar859

Not so new Member
Reaction score
Ok guys im a newbie but have been doing alot of research before i actually aquired my dragons. I bought 2 3week old Black soil dragons on Saturday. They are feeding well but i have noticed a few things that may be of a concerne but maybe not. Here we go one of the babies is a real pig eats twice as many crickets as the other but seems to get a bit bound up. My heat source is about 30cm from the highest point they can reach, is this too far away for good digestion. My enclosure is running from 29deg and 32deg but in the heat of the day atm the uv light keeps it at around 30deg most of the time and the basking light is off more than on. One thing i have noticed today that makes me ask these questions is that the one who gets a bit bound up tends to open its mouth like its trying to get more heat when the basking light is on. Also I am yet to see either of them take a drink. Am I worrying too much or could i be doing something better to keep their health. any advice would be appreciated.

How are you offering water?
Dragons will rarely drink from a dish, you need to mist them. twice a day for youngens, once every day or 2 for older dragons,..

i find it easier to offer very diluted juice (like 10 parts water to 1 part juice) thru a syringe which they love. (mine are centrals, but same basic idea)\

the fluids will help with the binding,..

basking temps should be around 40C, 32 isnt warm enough for good digestion.

what substrate are you using?
if its a loose substrate and one is injesting it, that will cause probs in such small lizards,...loose substrates are fine fro adults, but definately not 3 week olds,...

How are you offering water?