egg trouble,.. :(

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Chris1

cupcake
Reaction score
THis is my first year of dealing with eggs (amyae) and i seem to be doing something wrong.

for the second time 1 egg of the pair is collapsing really badly starting about 2 weeks before the hatch date, not just dints, but to look like a stepped on flat football.

yesterday i got 1 healthy hatchy and within the day the other egg had grown lots of mould spots that seemed to have come from nowhere, the previous egg that didnt hatch didnt go mouldy, but when i cut it open there was a fully formed dead hatchy.
i cut the current 'bad' egg open this morning, it doesnt smell dead yet, but there was no movement so im not really expecting it to hatch, but figured id give it another couple of days anyway.

for future reference, is there anything i can do once i notice the egg start to collapse?
they are collapsing so badly im partially convinced that the bubs are getting squished to death,....

i put another couple of eggs into the incubator last week so im hoping i can get the pair to hatch,..with the help of you kind and experienced folk! :p

so,...im using vermiculite in sealed siestma tubs (the ones that hold half a sandwich size)
airing daily, wiping lids every second day.

i dont know the exact humidity but it is high enough to need to wipe lids every second day.

temps have been at around 30-31, but the day before hatching they were 32.7, but even at that high a temp the good egg still hatched.

the incubator is just a foam box with a heat mat covered in sand, im using a cake rack to suspend the tubs so its getting even temps, not cooking on the bottom or anything.

last egg that hatched was at 60 days, this egg hatched at 62 days.

sooo, have i left anything out?