Explaination Please-Hypo's, Hets, Normal's etc etc :D

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Skelhorn

Very Well-Known Member
Reaction score
Explaination Please-Hypo's, Hets, Classic's etc etc :D

Afternoon guys and girls.

I always hear and read different things about Hypo's, Hybrids (obviously a cross of species?) this and Classic's and het's 66/99/100% etc etc.

Just curious if someone can point me in the direction of information I can read or post some info on what defies what. What determines a hypo or classic or whatever else there is haha.

This is my Bredli His light from head and goes into a dark tail (most recent picture after his shed. Please explain :D

And don't be hating peeps, I'm new to this side of reptiles and everyone has to learn somewhere, suppose this is the best place :)

Attachments

• 524139_10150720395704523_510999522_9147552_1606764521_n.jpg
    524139_10150720395704523_510999522_9147552_1606764521_n.jpg
    39.4 KB · Views: 206
Last edited:
Hypo/short for hypomelanistic is reduced black colouring, so say for example a nice hypo bredli will have no black- they're pretty much the nice brick red colour with white markings. Different people seem to have different 'standards' as to what they'd label as hypo.

Hyper/hypermelanistic is increased black pigment

Hets is short for heterozygote- I.e. for simple traits, they carry a normal allele and a recessessive allele. In comparison a homozygote has two alleles which are the same. so, say for example a classic, homozygote darwin carpet has two alleles- A and A (AA). And an albino darwin, also a homozygote, has two recessive alleles, aa. When a classic darwin is bred to an albino, ALL of the offspring get one allele from the mother, one from the father- so end up being Aa --> heterozygotes, as they have one of each.