Feedback on my turtle tank please?

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

rekauq

Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

First, can I say that I have already learned so much from these forums. I am preparing to be a turtle owner and although I have kept freshwater fish in the past, it is clear that turtles are a whole other level of aquarium care. I should also say that I am a scientist, and so doing things by the rulebook, is second nature to me.

I would love some feedback and input into my aquarium and adoption plans. Today I ordered a tank + stand - 122x46x51cm (48x18x20") - the turtle ramp is to be built at 350mm from the bottom. By my calculations, this will give the little guy around 200L to swim in. I have also ordered a Dalbarb light with a single 'Repistar' tube and a 300W heater. I plan to fill the tank with rainwater from my tank and the fellow making my tank recommended I use Amrite Down from start-up, which I will do.

Now, filtration is my big unknown. I had planned on purchasing a Fluval 305 after reading the forums here, but I am concerned that it might not be big enough for the volume. I read elsewhere that the Fluval 405 shouldn't be used for less than about 200L due to turbulence. I'm looking at $175 for the 305 and $249 for the 405 online, so my wallet wants the 305 to be sufficient, although I feel these are both excellent prices and I won't scrimp on efficiency.

Please can I have some feedback on the filter, and also if you think I have overlooked something? I will send off my permit application tomorrow, and hope to be ready for my new family member in about 3 weeks.

Thanks for producing an excellent site here folks... you've already helped me more than you know.

Cheers,

rekauq (that's quaker backwards... I am also a parrot enthusiast)

Hi welcome to the site :)