First time Lizard..

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

auspython

Reaction score
Hey all, I'm looking at getting a lizard. I have done a little research and the central bearded dragon sounds like a good lizard to start with. What are your thoughts on this? Remember I'm new to lizards and just starting out.

Cheers Tom

Mmm beardies are somewhat difficult as a beginners lizard, personally i'd recommend a lace monitor, doesn't get too big, dog tame and cheap.

Or a Blue Tongue, but if you have the time and do your research, a Beardy is a good choice

Mmm beardies are somewhat difficult as a beginners lizard, personally i'd recommend a lace monitor, doesn't get too big, dog tame and cheap.

lol

Beardies are pretty much the perfect beginner lizard. If you want something with a little more "personality" I'd suggest an Ackie but if you want something you can pet and walk around with on your shoulder then yeah definitely the Beardie

central bearded dragons are a perfect starter reptile. TeKnO was being sarcastic in regards to them being difficult.

I started in the Uk with leopard geckos (VERY easy) and a Beardie. No major issues as long as you have someone to ask questions of.

Thank you guys for the advice, I will be getting the enclosure in the next week, I was wondering are large fish tanks ok to keep central bearded dragons in?? also How would I go about heating the tank?

Cheers guys.