Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Fenno

Not so new Member
Reaction score
Hi Gecko Owners!

I have thought about buying a thick tailed gecko or pair for my 5yr old son. I don't know a lot about these little guys (I only own a python) so could anyone provide any info about them and firstly whether they are an ideal pet for a 5yr old.

I am no expert on gecko's but from what I have heard they are more of a look but don't touch kind of pets (like fish).
Something like a bearded dragon might be a better pet for a kid.

I dont think they would be a good idea unless the 5 year old is only aloud to look and not touch as one hard squeeze = dead gecko! I would recomend a blue tounge or bearded dragon my 3 year old handles my large bearded dragon's under strict super vision and guideance. But I would never give a small child a small lizard to handle as accidents happen that small animals dont recover from well.

yeh, i agree an easy to handle lizard might be better, if you think a smaller animal is better, than go a pygmy bearded dragon

my youngest is 5y and i wouldnt get him any of his own and he is not allowed to touch mine , however i think a snake or a blue tongue for eg is a much better choice at least you can handle them .

Okay this is exactly the information I needed to make a decision. Thank you.

I have also considered a giant burrowing cockroach (Macropanesthia Rhinoceros) for something really different. Has anyone heard of these?? My twin sis has a Beardy "Buckby09" and she would love for me to get one however I am chasing something a little smaller. I will suss out a pygmy beardy too....

Thanks Heaps

Problem with most geckos is they hide during daylight hours so he will rarely get to see them.