Geckos

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

snakelady96

Reaction score
Hi all, im very new to keeping geckos and have just bought a pair of wheeleri (banded knob tailed geckos) and a pair of underwoodisaurus milli (thick tailed gecko; barking gecko). I'm very excited for them to arrive as I've never owned geckos. I'v e been researching them ALL day on the internet and reading books. I love the look of the Nephrurus family geckos, some velvet geckos, and the underwoodisaurus family geckos :) I would love for people to give me some personal advice on them even general stuff im all ears! I want to know everything i can, even photos would be great of peoples geckos to get an idea of what species there are that i havent seen yet. Please excuse me if i have made mistakes in the scientific names/families as i said im only new to the gecko world and ready to learn all about them!

Hi what exactly did you want to know? Nephrurus species are great starter geckos (Despite recent work I still hold milli an sphyrurus to be in the genus Nephrurus), you are definitely doing right starting with them.

Generally geckos need a tub maybe 2 by 3 foot, the species you are talking about don't need much height. They need several hides at least one of which is kept moist and one should be above a hot section of the enclosure. A water bowl should be provided but those species generally prefer to drink by spraying them on the side of the enclosure. Feeding is as simple as 2-3 crickets every 2nd night dusted with calcium powder every feed.

btw you are not referring to families, you are referring to genera. In Australia the 4 families of gecko are Geckonidae, Carphodactylidae, Diplodactylidae and Pygopodidae. (I only added this since you said you were so eager to learn and you yourself used Scientific genera)