handling a wild adult coastal python? (by a novice)

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

swahili_bob

Reaction score
Hi

I have a 10ft long coastal python living in my roof in Northern NSW - it has been resident for at least 5 years.

I am a novice at snake handing (you know reptile shows etc) - but i would love to be able handle the snake occasionally when it is on our verandah.

Is it safe to just walk up to it or should I coax it with food etc first?

I wouldn't recommend handling him. I think it may also be illegal to.

Coaxing with food will trigger a feeding response.

ok - so if I sat near it and let it come to me - would that work ?

I am in the bush - so it is not a pet -so I don't see how it could be illegal ?

They dont all like being picked up,just admire from a safe distance.Take us some pictures we would all rather see that.

They dont all like being picked up,just admire from a safe distance.Take us some pictures we would all rather see that.

i dunno about you i;d prefer to see the mess if it bit them.lol

it is illegal to pick up wild reptiles without a permit to do so. best just leave it

Just admire it from a distance - look at it from the snake's perspective, he doesn't gain anything by interacting with you, except possibly stress...

ok - so if I sat near it and let it come to me - would that work ?......?

Are you serious? LMAO that is the funniest thing I have heard :lol: I don't mean that in a bad way. But yeah just sit back and call it and it might come to you :lol:

I am sorry. But seriously, why do you want him out? If he isn't harassing you or your animals then let him stay. He will keep the rats out and certainly won't be sneaking up to attack you. I would LOVE a wild reptile to take up residence in my yard. Specially an old python like that :D