Hello Everyone

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Flaviemys purvisi

Very Well-Known Member
Reaction score
Hi all, just posting this as a quick intro, I'm new to keeping pythons but I've been in the reptile seen for many years, my main interest is Freshwater turtles. I've always wanted to keep a few small pythons and currently have a 10 month old Blonde spotted who had a very slow start in life. She hatched back on January 13 this year (according to her record card) that came with her from the store and when I acquired her on September 10th, she'd only shed 3 times and eaten 12 meals in her whole 9 month life (going by her record card) which is pretty ordinary. Since coming home with me, she's now shed twice already and has had 9 fuzzies since September 10 until last night. So you could say she/we are playing a little catch up! Next Wednesday I'll be picking up an 11 month old Stimson's and that, along with my current spotted will most likely fulfil my python cravings.

This little blonde is housed in a simple Sistema click-clack that I've made holes in with a soldering iron for ventilation with a double layer of paper towel on the bottom for substrate. The tub sits half on-half off a 10 watt heat mat. She has a cardboard roll from a clingwrap for a hide and a ceramic water dish which she can completely submerge in if necessary. I also made a small humidity hide for her out of a small Sistema tub by cutting a hole out of one side and half filling it with damp sphagnum moss and placing it on the warm side of her tub. She has successfully used the humid hide for both sheds she's had since I got her and overall I'd say she's pretty happy. I don't make a point of handling her unnecessarily, only when I need to clean her tub, I take her out for a few mins of sunshine.