How Much Longer!!

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

firsttimebreeder

Not so new Member
Reaction score
hey guys
im new to this and ive had a couple of beardies since about 04/09. the largest is just ove 20cm head to tip of tail and the other is about 19cm head to tip. is this a normal growth rate. i bought them from a pet shop and they were just sellin them a beardies. big one is very yellow and the other greyish. they get UV every day and on weekends they get to go play in the grass. they have cricket and dust veges and fruit every day..
should they be close to adult size? my temps are perfect and there in 3ft tanks each.

They all grow at different rates. Depends on how much they eat I spose and how old they were when you got them. Males could also take longer as they grow to be generally larger than females. My boy is about 10 -12 months now and is about 25-30cm long nose to tip of tail. But he still has a lot to grow outwards. His head is still small, and his body is still slim. I'm not expecting him to be full grown for another year maybe.

post some pics... you sure they're centrals? mine was about 45cm at 12 months and about 400g.... i think they sound rather small for their age. how much are they eating (numbers of crickets etc / day)

Mine was a late starter and didn't eat much at all for the first 2-3 months I had him. So that's why I'm expecting him to take longer to grow full size. These were taken about a month ago, so he's a bit bigger than this now.

Attachments

• Spike1.JPG
    Spike1.JPG
    402.6 KB · Views: 98
  • Spike2.jpg
    Spike2.jpg
    72.3 KB · Views: 102
they eat 3 crickets each and about 20 cent piece of friut and vege a day !! photos on way

Last edited:
they eat 3 crickets each and about 20 cent piece of friut and vege a day !! photos on way