I hate expanda-foam...

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

melluvssnakes

Reaction score
Ok, so most of this has been posted in the DIY Group that Jaxrtfm spent so many hours getting up and running, but because action in there has been so slack (even though we now have the highest number of members) I decided to post this in here as well.
Now I am not an expert, and I'm not entirely happy with the way that this has turned out so far, but that's what this is all about right, making mistakes and learning from them. So I'll post up the pics that I have, and comment along the way.
attachment.php

I was supposed to build this myself, but unfortunately my boyfriend got bored one afternoon and turned all the MDF that I had so painstakingly cut into this...
attachment.php

Still, it's not bad and it did save me screaming, pulling out my hair and whatnot. Undercoat to seal and it's time to start the fun part.
attachment.php

I hate expanda foam. But I wanted to try something different, so I just had to put up with it.
attachment.php

This is after about 5 coats of cement. Because there was so much detail in the wall, I had to use very thin coats of cement to get into all the cracks and crevices. But because the cement mix was so thin, it cracked, flaked and did all sorts of stupid things I didn't want it to do. So i got the shi$'s with it, and decided to try liquid sand stone instead. Here's the first coat that I did this morning.
attachment.php

I love the way this went on, it was just like sloppy sand. Very easy, but the fumes were a bit overpowering. I also really like the look of it, the way that it sits darkly in the low spots, just like real shadow. Plus, the colour means I won't have to put too much paint over it.