Incubation Temps Determine Sex In Thick Tailed Geckos

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Gibblore

Very Well-Known Member
Reaction score
Hi just curious if anyone has played with different temps to see hatch times & sex ratio of thick tailed geckos?

Going by Keeping Australian Geckos By Rob Porter In the species list page 61. It say's that incubator temp's 27 - 29 degrees cel. & a hatching time of 60 to 70 days.

I have 4 clutches in my incubator at moment. I have my incubator set on 26 degrees cel.

The first clutch has been in there for 76 days both eggs look like they should hatch any day now so will keep posted on hatching date.

I have Females ready to lay again soon, I will be incubating these eggs in a different incubator at 27 degrees cel.

I will be monitoring my results from this probaly just from shere bordom & Interest. And will keep posting my finds to this thread.

If anyone else has constrictive input please feel free to add to this thread.

I don't really have anything informative to add, however I would be interested in seeing your results over the next few clutches, perhaps 26 right through to 30 increasing by 1 for each clutch and see just what comes out of the eggs? I know temp does determine sex in some gecko species.

I would interested to c how u go as I have a pair of thickys with a clutch in the incubator plz keep us posted thanx

I will keep updates on progress but will take awhile for eggs to hatch and hatchies to reach a sexable size cheers guys

At 76 day's 26c one egg had collapsed and other looked like it was about to expolde. At day 80 I cut the collapsed egg opened to find thisOpened colapsed egg 79day 26c Baby DOA (1).jpg
Pretty sure it dyed trying to get out of egg but not certant.