Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

stretch101

Reaction score
hi all, im very new to this so plz bear with me!
we bought a beautifull female coastal python about two and a half weeks ago ( she is about three n a half months). we were warned by the breeder that she could be quite snappy, but since getting her home and settled into her encloser (we decided to put her straight in instead of the click a clack) she has been extremely relaxed, super placid and hasnt tried to bight me once, even tho i was soo nervous the first time i handled her! we waited three days before we fed her ( it had been ten days since her last feed) and she ate without a problem.
my question to u all is: how active can i expect her to be? for the last two weeks she has just been chillin on her branch and the only time she moves around is when i put her back in her tank after having her out for awhile, but even then its just to get back on her stick.
while she is out she moves around a lot on my hand and arm and seems quite inquisitive... the temp at the warm end gets to 33 degrees and at the cool end about 22-23 degrees. her stick is in the warm end.
and also, how long should it take her to pass her meal?

hope my question isnt too silly lol
would appreciate all advice:lol:

I didnt know you could have Coastals in WA, or is it a South Western Carpet.

Anyway, With the info you have given I dont see any dramas.
The temps are right, its feeding well, it sounds normal to me.

The fact that it is atcive and explores when you have it out, tells me there is no health issues.
Although I would add a branch to the cool end, to give it a choice.

As for how long it will take to pass its meal,
it depends on the size of the meal and how warm it has been kept, and if its due to shed its skin.
Could be anywhere from 5 to 14 days.