Marbled Gecko info please

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

sayrahsayrah

Not so new Member
Reaction score
Hey there! Newbie here.

I have been going through as many care sheets/forums and this forums info too on marbled geckos.

Mainly, mating, breeding season, how long this particular species is gravid for (that is the correct term, yeah?) and how long it takes the eggs to hatch, but I can't seem to find the specific info i'm looking for.

I've just purchased a male and female and put them in a tank. The male settled in alot quicker than the female and is roaming around whenever he feels like it - especially down to her end of the tank where she is usually hiding under a rock.

He's been sneaking in and out of the rock for the last couple of days and a day or two ago, after one of his visits he did this weird curly thing with his body and it looked like his was cleaning himself (head up ***, basically haha).

I don't want to get ahead of myself, but I did find a thread in here with a pic of the same thing where someone actually asked what it was the gecko was doing. Supposedly it's a general hygiene thing or they do it after they try to mate? Am I heading in the right direction here?

So, can someone fill me in a bit on the info that I can't seem to find. There seems to be references to "breeding season" all over the place on the net for the marbled gecko, but nobody actually states when that is. :rolleyes: Not good for a want-to-know-everything-sort, it's left me very frustrated. Hahaha.

And info would be great, I would love to know as much as possible about these little guys.

Thanks! :D

The male clean their "thing" after mating, so maybe thats what he did, but it is a bit late in the year so he could have been just cleaning.
Did you actually see his bits?