My python

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

PATROLKING

Not so new Member
Reaction score
Help me understand my python please

Hi all, I'm New to the reptile keeping whilst I've done a heap of research into my choosen PYTHON (DIAMOND PYTHON ) I am wondering how often my PYTHON should poop in between feeding ,I feed her every Monday 1 x fuzzy rat I have only had her for 2 weeks the first time I feed her she poop 4 days later ,the 2nd time she pooped 3 days later and this mornin I seen she had pooped again is this normal.I know the tree phases of poop but the one this morning has no white poop just a bit of liquid and poop. Am I spinning out for no reason or is there a reason for this .any help or advice would be greatly appreciated thanks.

Last edited:
Being a fuzzy rat you might not see much white urite, digestive time can vary depending on outside temps increasing the cool end and maybe the hot end too increasing metabalism rate. Also the size of the rat could detrmine defecation times as a bigger meal takes more time to digest. hope this helps a little

My little fella usually goes about 3 days after eating, but there have been times where he's taken days longer, or even completely skipped a week and left a much larger present in his enclosure for me to clean up the next week. He also always passes his urates (white part) separately to the rest of his crap haha, sometimes as much as a day or two apart. You're not going to see them together every time your little critter goes, it's going to vary a little each time. Try to relax a little, what you've described isn't out of the ordinary :) breathe!