Need help - Your Opinion on best Ceramic Globe for 60x45x60 Vivarium Enclosure!

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

artolicus

Not so new Member
Reaction score
Need help - Your Opinion on best Ceramic lamp for 2 foot enclosure!

Hi guys!!

Im new to the Vivarium bizz and I have purchased a new URS Medium Glass Enclosure to keep a Pygmy Bearded Dragon or Two!

My problem is that I am not at all experienced with heat lamps, and though Ive done my research there's no info online about the size of a Ceramic Heat lamp and its approximate heating capabilities vs Viv size!

Here's the thing - I purchased a "ready set up Vivarium" from a pet store, which of course wasnt ready made up at all - no thermostat, and came with a heat GLOBE rather than ceramic heat lamp. (The globe was blown too! thanks herp store!)

Anyway, Ive taken myself into my local supply store and purchased a 100W ceramic globe, and I bought an electronic Thermostat online which is doing the trick fine. But my hubby tells me that 100W is a huge power consumer when on full time .... and it's heating just fine, but what are the capabilites of a 100watter Ceramic heat lamp???> Im aiming for a high of only 42'C, and its sure managing that, but its probably because I have it on a thermostat right? How hot CAN they emitt?

Would it be safe to say that its chewing the power but working at its lowest capabilities, and that I could just as well get a 75 W heater and it would easily do that small space?

If anyone has any experience with the smaller wattage with similar cage sizes, it'd be much appreciated guys!