Whats a better pet?

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

dkir7979

Not so new Member
Reaction score
Pygmy bearded dragons or central bearded dragon? im a beginner and want to know what species is the best to keep. cheers!

They are both excellent reptiles to keep. Pygmies only require half the space. Its best to only keep one lizard in each enclosure because they often fight.

They are both excellent reptiles to keep. Pygmies only require half the space. Its best to only keep one lizard in each enclosure because they often fight.
if I get 2 females will they fight? or are pygmies solitary creatures? Im going to be letting them run around alot in my house so it may be a bit hard to find

I prefer the full sized dragons as I personally find them much less skittish and more fun to get out and play with. The pygmies are great to observe because they're incredibly active and fast, they dig around allot and hunt ferociously. My Central is very laid back and loves to just chill out on the lounge with me, that being said it all comes down to how they were handled when they were hatchlings and individual personalities.

I prefer the full sized dragons as I personally find them much less skittish and more fun to get out and play with. The pygmies are great to observe because they're incredibly active and fast, they dig around allot and hunt ferociously. My Central is very laid back and loves to just chill out on the lounge with me, that being said it all comes down to how they were handled when they were hatchlings and individual personalities.

So individual personalities aside, do you think that a pygmy and a central that was handled the same amount as a youngster would both be as laid back?

I have been having this debate with myself too... central or pymgy.... but mine also extends to monitors.