woma 'sneezing' before slough

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

maddog-1979

Reaction score
g'day all

i'm new to the world of woma's , i have my 1st slough's happening now and have noticed some weird 'sneezing' sounds from the 2 woma's in the deepest stage.

my 8 month old uluru shed overnight, he had been hiiden away for the last couple of days, but before bed i noticed he was looking out from his hide, opening his jaw wide, then closing his mouth and pushing out a big sneeze. it got me worried but after keeping an eye on him today he has not shown any issues with breathing or 'sneezed'again

now my 6 yr old SA is in deep shed as well and she is doing the same sneeze, but with no mouth opening before hand, and looks like she is due to slough at any stage now.

so the question is .... is this normal for woma's? , as i have not seen it in other species i have kept ( darwin, coastal, GTP)

i was worried about RI, but it the little fella show's no signs of a problem now, so i'm thinking it might be a trait in the species????

I find my womas sometimes show signs like that during shed. I belive it's just from the fluids they produce to help shed.

It was scary the first time I witnessed it. I just had one of my big females all clogged up in the nose and I thought she was very I'll till she shed and now she is right as rain.

thanks mate, i was a bit scared last night with the little fella, but once he shed all signs went away.....waiting on the old girl to shed now to see if she stops immediatly, then i'll be satisfied there is nothing wrong with em

Snakes even shed the skin from inside their noses....any wonder they get upset....it must feel dreadful

Snakes even shed the skin from inside their noses....any wonder they get upset....it must feel dreadful