Your Thoughts?

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.
F

FAY

What are your thoughts and experiences on buying adult snakes???

Good or bad?
Would you only buy from someone that you know the history of the animal and exacly how old it is, knowing how it has been heated and fed propely??? Would you buy an adult just on the fact that it looks healthy ,hoping that it is breeding age?
Would you only buy hatchies, happy to wait till they grow?

I'm only new to this, so at the moment I am quite happy with hatchlings, as I fear I don't know enough to breed just yet, so what is the point in buying adult animals? I'm sure when I rack up some more experience I'll start looking for adult pythons, but right now I'm happy to watch them grow with me!

i have gotton adult snakes before. once was a 9 year old male prosperpine of a good friend and i knew and trusted his collection. i would have no problem buying a adult python if it was from someone i knew and trusted. alot of the time it is easier as all the hard work has been done for you and they have generally calmed down quite a bit with age. cheers
mel

if i was going to become a breeder, i would purchase hatchlings or yearlings.
if i was intending to purchase an adult, it would have to be from someone i know and trust, otherwise i wont even consider it, just to be on the safe side.

I purchased my Antaresia as 1 - 2 year olds. In both cases the vendors had very reasonable explanations for the sale, so no worries. They are great snakes and have never had a bit of trouble. Both came with full feeding, shedding and medical history.

I think many people hold back animals and sell on yearlings that they decide not to put into breeding. An older animal (3+) would be more unusual. You'd want more information.