Heat light or ceramic heat emitter?

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

JessTL

Reaction score
Hello,

Newbie here. Well actually my daughter is the one that's done the research & getting snakes... I'm in charge of spending her money on equipment... she's not here to ask ATM tho.

We are getting one(or maybe 2) Bredli pythons. Is it best to have a heat lamp that's a globe, or will the ceramic ones do?

Do the ceramic ones emit UV? Can you turn off the light ones at night? If answer to those 2 questions is no, do we need one of each? Or a heat mat & globe...?

TIA!

you will get a mixed range of answers from CHE to Spotlights from bunnings

I personally use a CHE connected to a thermostat that turns off at 4pm and back on at 8am

most Pythons dont need UV from lights (no benefits to those with or without)

Ceramics dont emit UV, but again, they arent needed.

you will 99% of the time only need 1 heating item, For glass enclosures, heatmat/heat cord underneath is best, but only 1/3 or less covered

make sure to get a cage if you decide on a CHE/globe, as they can get in excess of 150+c to the touch (my CHE gets to 250 if you put the temp gun aimed at it)

Thanks Bl69aze. And what strength CHE?

We do have a glass enclosure(fish tank) but she didn't mention heat mats...

Thanks Bl69aze. And what strength CHE?

We do have a glass enclosure(fish tank) but she didn't mention heat mats...
i use a 75w which is overkill some days, even on a thermostat

If you like an unnatural, expensive and cumbersome option for heating, CHE are perfect!