Am I doing it right?

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Naota

Reaction score
Hi Guys,

Im new to APS and even newer to owning a python. I got my first python 8 days ago and am already finding Keeping and extremely rewarding hobby. I do however have a few questions, or confirmations on what im doing to see if I get things right.

I have a 5 month old Mcdowelli. I havent had a good measure yet as ive been avoiding handling him while he settles in but he fits along one two sides of the 7l sistema i have him in so i would estimate hes somewhere between 45-50cm, though I could be out by abit. So now for a couple of questions.

1. Heating: As previously mentioned, I have her in a click clack, but im not using a heatmat to heat her, but rather a 60w infrared URS spotlamp attached to an ACT-110 Thermostat. The temperature gradient in the click clack range from 30 degree Hot end to 23-25 degrees cool end. Is that too small a gradient? is a cool end of 23-25 degrees running the risk of dehydrating the hatchling? ( I have a large waterbowl in there).
If this is too small a gradient, does anyone have any novel ways of increasing the gradient without increasing the power to the bulb. I assume more ventilation will help, but is it better to increase the number of ventilation holes at the cool end so that more heat is escaping at that end? or should I increase the number of holes at the warm end so that warm air doesnt get conducted towards the cool end (heating the cooler air from that end) to escape through those ventilation holes? I can work this out through experimentation im sure, but just curious if anyone has already done that leg-work.