bad advice for novice hunters/shooters

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Hooglabah

Very Well-Known Member
Reaction score
ive been hunting for over 5 years now and i learnt from a man ive never seen miss anything and was special forces trained as a sniper so i consider the advice and teachings ive recieved to be above the average; seems to have paid off i can shoot better than most people who have been shooting 2 or 3 times longer than i.

to the point while in the middle of looking for advice on the internet on what brand of ammo people have found to work well for my recently purchased lee enfield mk1 no.3
ive seen a large number of threads in various forums asking whats the best begginer rifle.

the most common answer i see is a .270 winchester or a .300 win mag to me this is rediculous what sort of idiot would recomend starting with a high powered rifle like this.

1. the ammo is very expensive.
2.its a great way to develop a flinch (if this happens kiss accurate and consistant shooting goodbye)
3.they are expensive to buy.

its like trying to teach a toddler to run before he can walk its absurd.

the other thing that shocks me is just how many people especially these days who learn to shoot straight off with a scope.
dont get me wrong i use scopes i like useing scopes infact my .222 rem has a
4-15x 50 on it, however i learnt to shoot with iron sights i still have my little .22 with iron sights; truth be told without modification it couldnt have a scope.