Black Headed Monitor

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Jdsixtyone

Very Well-Known Member
Reaction score
Hi guys,
Im looking at buying a Black Headed Monitor. I found a old melamine toy box in storage. It measures 96cmL x 56cmW x 40cmH. I am going to transfer the box into an enclosure. What wattage should the light be? How hot does the basking spot need to be? And any other info on feeding and care. Also does anyone know of a good caresheet for them?Thankyou for reading my post:)
Jordy

Please any info? I am buying the rest of the stuff i need tomorrow. (lights,glass etc)

hi mate,that size is a wee bit small for adults,id be going at least 4x2x2 for an adult pr,your size is ok to raise them in though,or for adults like gillens or storrs monitors

um, im no expert, i have a beardie, but ill see wot advice i can give ya incase no one else does, as i said no expert

light wattage, as long as its enough to heat the enclosure to required tempurature
basking spot, not sure but as most enclosures they have a hot end (i think 30oc dont quote me) and a cool end (22-25oc dont quote me) somthing around that but may also depend on what you have in there and what its heat requirments are.
feeding and care, sorry cant help and dont wanto advice as i have NO idea.
caresheet, without going into specifics for what your keeping i guess its just, feed schedule, water bowl, keep enclosure clean etc.

dunno if it helped but if ya didnt its somthing to work on while u find out more info.

enjoy your monitor ;)

Thanks guys. I know they need basking temps around 50 degrees. He is going to go either outside or into a 6ft x 3ft x 3ft when he is an adult. They dont require uvb do they?

My ackies have a 50W halogen roughly 15cm away from their basking spot and the temp gets to about 60 max.