does the Aust herp world need an overhaul?

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

FusionMorelia

Reaction score
just wondering what you guys think?
After a years of thinking then a year of research, reading,talking and collecting all things herp related i have developed a few ideas/ideals i personally think this industry/hobby/obsession needs what do u guys think i know im a total newbie here but something needs a change

1. licencing. i personally believe a reptile lic needs to have a test b4 getting it, seriously how many people do we see with exactly ZERO knowledge of herps asking questions that seriously if your asking u shouldn't have a herp,
E.G i have a new snake in a tiny fish tank with no heat and he wont eat plse help!!etc etc
i think a small test on the basics would be good!

2. measurements/weights. everything u read is slightly different and a bitch to read/deal with 1 place has everything in cm measurement's some inches some mm some in feet cant we have 1 standard across the board?

3. new herpers treatment. I have seen it here i have seen it everywhere, why is it when someone comes here or other places asking very basic questions about animals they are forced to deal with snide/insulting remarks and general forum abuse? with such a loose lic system requiring zero knowledge about the area to get a lic shouldn't we be helping newbies as much as possible to ensure the safety and health of the animal?
i dont think people with zero knowledge should have a herp, but they can get the lic with no knowledge so its up to us to ensure the person/animal gets the essential help asap! not the person be humiliated and abused until they just wing it!

and finally