Eastern Water Dragons aren't easy to find in the US

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

euparkeria

Not so new Member
Reaction score
Hi, everyone. :) I'm new to to this site. I joined because it looks like people here really know what they're talking about (especially in what concerns enclosure construction).

I have a Chinese Water Dragon named Richard. Every since I got him, I've been curious about EWD's. They are hard to find in the States, and I've been asking around for people around here who have a breeding pair, with no success.

I know that Australia has laws against exporting animals.

I just wanted to say that you are all lucky to be able to find EWD's so easily! I see so many photos of them in people's backyards and swimming pools. Australia is so rich in exciting wildlife that it makes me quite jealous!

Are CWD's relatively easy to obtain in Australia? I'm just curious.

probably but only illeagaly
we arent allowed to import either

so you can only own native animals

and for our sake please only buy hatchling animals the are from aus once you have seen the breeding set up to make sure they are not illeagaly exported cuz i know it happens. ewd are pretty yes but no good for handleing and can be very agrresive they also get over a meter long you really need a big enclosure or an aviery especially as they are arboreal and also requer enough water to be able to submerge themselfs and swim in.

If I got a EWD, it would certainly be captive-bred. There are a handful of people here who have EWD's.

I had the impression that EWD's were roughly the size of CWD's. I had no idea they could be very aggressive. My male CWD is extremely docile.

i have 2 little guys and they are skitz.... nuts..... crazy. you cant get near them.