Good Day lovers of the Class Reptilia, Order Squamata, Suborder Serpentes/Ophidia.

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Casey.Hodgkinson

Reaction score
I'm new to the snake keeping business,
And am about to purchase a 1 meter childrens python (Antaresia Childreni)

The appropriate "front opening" tank has been built and all i need to purchase is some artificial plants, a heat lamp, a hide and some flooring (moss or other natural flooring to assist in shedding)

Could someone be a love and point me in the right direction of where a good place to buy supplies (im in Noosa QLD)?

I'm also a little confused with the wattage of the heat-lamp i need .....

Many thankssssssss

Regards

Casey

I don't know if there's a good pet store closer to Noosa, but there's a huge pet emporium place in Kawana (i think on Nicklin Way) that has loads of great snake suitable supplies - last time i was there they had EVERYTHING. Also Mooloolaba pets and aquarium or whatever it's called - but they have either moved or closed down so you may want check on that. There is also a pet store on Sugar Rd in Maroochydore that I know sells frozen rats, so I'm assuming the have other reptile supplies.
The wattage of the heat lamp will depend on the size of your enclosure but usually the instructions on the box will give a good indication as to whether you've picked the right one.
There is a kind of substrate that some pet stores sell that is kinda like an artificial moss... but I don't know how easy it is to clean and it's expensive. I would also suggest kitty litter or newspaper. :)

i agree with animal collector and mercurian, i would never put moss as a substrate for a snake ! try something like eco bark, sand, cat litter, or newspaper

anyway Goodluck