Hello. I am new and seeking advice.

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Harry89

Reaction score
Hi, I am new to both the world of keeping reptiles and to the world of forums. I wanted to introduce myself and ask where/who I would ask about owning/buying/keeping a python. I live in Brisbane where I study and work and have an interest in some of the less conventional female pastimes such as my love of bike riding and a desire to have a python. Thank you for all your time and I hope to see you around on the forum. (P.S. Any suggestions on where I am to post my question about keeping my first Aussie native would be greatly appreciated.)Harry89

Hey there Harry,

First step is getting your reptile permit. This is super easy to do in QLD compared to some other states so you're lucky there, lol.

Once you have that all sorted out the next step is to research what type of python you're interested in and if you can accommodate for it (enclosure size, food bill, etc).

From there you will want to probably get yourself a copy of "Keeping and Breeding Australian Pythons" by Mike Swan which will help you understand many of the requirements of commonly kept species. This book is considered to be the snake keepers bible, but if you are not much of a book fan you can get some of the same info through internet research or talking to a fellow snake keeper (such as the peeps on here, except you may want to use the search function for your question first as silly questions tend to annoy people on here, lol).

Anyway, feel free to PM me as I'm also in Brisbane so can probably point you in the right direction for a few things.