Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

MrsAeren

Not so new Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

Im a newbie but have loved snakes for years. So I have decided to start researching and decide what to buy. This is where I need some help. Can anyone give me any suggestions for a small breed. I would like my children to be involved so I would like something that is under a metre long as an adult. Then I can save for my ultimate snake, an albino. Also have some questions that I havent found answers for in the "tips for newbies" thread.

Is there a size of snake to tank ratio? I know to big is bad so how much room do they really need.

Also, the guy at the pet shop said that I should be careful if I use a glass tank as the heat will escape. Is this true? I know people use them. And I live in qld and is quite warm in winter.

Ok I think thats it so far. I got heaps of info from the newbie thread.

Thanks

Hi and welcome!

In NSW there is a 'code of practice' which I feel is reasonable for pythons so you could use it as a starting point regarding cage size. Google it and you should find it.

Smaller pythons are childrens pyhton and spotted python, both are from the antaresia family. These would be the most available smaller species to keep and you can find loads of information for them in books and online.