hibernation of diamonds

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

tweety2

Reaction score
Hiya all
i just brought a new diamond python today from roy pails and now i need to get all the facts on hibernating him. Wot i would like to know is when should i start cooling him down. wot temp should i take him down too. How long should i leave him cooled down before i turn his temp back up. do i feed him before i cool him down, if so how long before i cool him. and do i feed him before i put him with a female diamond that my mate across the road has or do i just take him there to do his job then bring him home after a week or two then feed him.
thanks in advance for any and all advice or if anyone knows of a website that i can look all this info up in it would be greatly appreciated
cheers
lisa

I'm only a relative newbie so I don't know much but here goes...
I dunno about temps but feed up until hibernation, put with female any time during hibernation, hibernate about 3-6 months, don't know about male but feed female as much as she'll take prior to mating.
I had a 5-6 ft female for a year or so a couple years back and she refused food for at least 5 months from April I think.
Can't help with links.
Come on guys, help him out!

PS Lisa if he's a hatchling I wouldn't worry about hibernation the first year, I didn't with any of my hatchlings, just fatten it up as much as possible the first year.
Rennie

thanks rennie, tiny is a 5year+ diamond so really needs to be hibernated :)

Rennie,

You may have to reveal a little more detail first to get good advice.

Vital statistics like your rough location & whether the snake is kept indoors or outside would help. :?:

Also, what condition the snake is in is important, as you should only cool specimens that are in good condition. :?: