Is my carpet python a Jag?

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

FaustVIII

Reaction score
Hi there, I'm new to carpet pythons. I know how to care for them but I have virtually no clue on morphs. I bought my female from a reptile shop and she was labelled as a McDowells, after buying her I tried googling what I assume is a morph but nothing comes up. I sent a picture of my carpet to a guy who breeds them to see what would go nicely as a future breeding project and he says she is a jag. Then I watched a vid on youtube and a guy mentioned Queensland which apparently look like jags but aren't. My head is fried if you could have a look and tell me what morph she is (if any) I'd greatly appreciate it.

Here's a pic

qq6c13.jpg

I paid £150 so around jag prices I think. I aren't really bothered if she is or isn't its as I think she's ace! It's just if she isn't I'd buy a male jag. I don't really want to risk 25% of the clutch dying. Especially after a few years lol. Thanks for the replies :D

in my opinion she's a mareeba python.. and i think thats a queensland carpet python either way though like if im right or im wrong and she's a jag you scored both ways!!:)

She does have similarities with a mareeba it's weird she sort of looks inbetween the two to me once she's shed I'll upload a decent picture of her. Reckon I should just go for a male jag?

Since you are overseas it is more likely that she is a jag instead of a pure reduced pattern. As for it being a Mareeba animal, I doubt there are too many Cape York carpets overseas. If you do decide to buy a male jag be prepared for some of the clutch to die. At least that way you would know for sure. She is a nice looking animal either way.

Last edited: