Jungle Python Help/Advice

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Ironmind91

Not so new Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone! first time snake owner, first time poster.

I got my jungle python Friday (QLD) from a breeder. She is 1 year and 5 months old. She handled great on both occasions before I bought her, eats like a champion, sheds fine. She was fed the day before (Thursday) I got her. Now this is my first snake, so I'm very new to the reptile scene, and am after some advice. I went and bought all the set up for her, ill attach photos, and once I opened the container to put her in..Snap!! she strikes. She finally came out and into her new home and went straight to the top of her viv (see photos) where she has remained since. Is it normal for a snake to literally not move for this amount of time? i understand the snapping is just nerves, and she is a jungle after all so I'm aware they are notorious for being snappy.

When should I start to handle her? the info on all the snake forums is a bit mixed so hopefully I can stick with this site and become a regular! haha

I have a heat lamp at one end, and a UV light at the "cool" end. Humidity is at around 64%. Cool end of the tank is at 23.9?C and hot end is around 30?C

Any tips or advice on anything I've said so far would be greatly appreciated.

Also any tips on calming her down as well, Im a little nervous about sticking my hand near her but I know its early. And yes I have thought this through, for about 2 years actually, and I like to think I've done my research as well, so be nice! haha thanks for reading guys!
image.jpg
image[1].jpg
image[2].jpg
image[3].jpg
image[4].jpg