Just curious - Why do you keep elapids?

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Avery4

Reaction score
I'm new to all this herping stuff, but am certainly developing a deep appreciation and love for the critters.

I've been checking out the amazing elapid pics and am curious - for those of you with elapids, why do you keep them? Is it for how amazing they look? Or the thrill of keeping creatures so few people have? Or is it about getting up close and personal with such dangerous animals? or for some other reason entirely?

Perhaps rude of me to ask, but I am fascinated.

personally if i was to keep a ven (it will happen when i move into my own house some day) it would entirely be based on how mis understood they are, there such amazing, attractive and just lovely snakes. theres so much detail on them, its just indescribable how truly amazing they are!

Their looks, attitude, and the fact they don't sit around all day like pythons. The couple pythons I do have get handled no different to the vens. They both aren't handled so really there is no difference in how they're kept.

It just seemed a logical step up from pythons for me :lol:

I find any snake truly fascinating, and I'm in love the venomous ones as much as the non-venomous. To me, they are worth the risk. That said, I'd be very wary if any of mine were complete nutjobs...I don't have a death wish :D

Just something different. I also dont have a death wish But they are well worth the risk. Play by all the rules and all will be well