Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Colin8ight-e

Not so new Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I live in Adelaide and would like to buy a Murray Darling Carpet Python, Do I need a permit to buy from a pet store and own one snake?
Is a heat mat better then a ceramic heater?
The enclosure is about 1.2mtrs x 1.2mtrs x 440mm deep.
Also what is the differance between a Yearling and a Hatchling?
Sorry I'm very new to this, I have lots of questions.

Cheers.

You need to have a wildlife license, even for just one snake.

Unless you are buying from another state you don't need any other permits.

Heating and enclosures sizes will depend on the age of the snake you are getting.

A hatchling is from weeks old, maybe a couple of months old, and a yearling is a snake that is at least 12 months old.

That is actually incorrect,in S.A. you dont need a permit to own 1 reptile,however you will need to apply for one to keep multiple reptiles.
As for whether a heat mat is better than using a ceramic,thats a personal choice thing and opinions will vary.
Depending on whether you get a hatchy or a yearling will determine the size of the enclosure you will need.Putting a small snake or hatchling into a large enclosure can lead to health and feeding problems due to stress.
The common opinion is to put hatchlings into click clacks with a heat mat underneath half of the enclosure.
If you can let us know some more details with regards to what you will get we can help you more with setups etc.

That is actually incorrect,in S.A. you dont need a permit to own 1 reptile,however you will need to apply for one to keep multiple reptiles.
As for whether a heat mat is better than using a ceramic,thats a personal choice thing and opinions will vary.