newbie what should I breed

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

dragonboy69

Reaction score
Hi im wondering as im a newbie to keeping snakes im looking at getting into breeding next season. Im thinking which is better to breed for a novice Stimson Wheatbelt, Spotted or Morelia Spilota Cheynei want feedback as which are easier to feed when hatchlings such as what they eat as hatchlings eg pinkys or is pinkys to large which on average has larger clutch which will be easier to sell out there etc. Also just the basic starting price for each species.
If you can help me with anything else much appreciated.

I think you should just learn how to keep them first off....breeding may come much later.....

Hi im wondering as im a newbie to keeping snakes im looking at getting into breeding next season. Im thinking which is better to breed for a novice Stimson Wheatbelt, Spotted or Morelia Spilota Cheynei want feedback as which are easier to feed when hatchlings such as what they eat as hatchlings eg pinkys or is pinkys to large which on average has larger clutch which will be easier to sell out there etc. Also just the basic starting price for each species.

if i was you i would hold out a few years and get to know how to care for them first and then look at breeding

yeah, agreed. and you should know, there are two types of pinkies too. pinkie mice & pinkie rats.
learn how to keep a python first, then move onto breeding later down the track. it's taken me almost 5yrs since I got my first snake to get up the courage to breed them. I know people who have taken longer to get all the knowledge and experience you need.
Take time, learn how to look after your snakes first. you don't want to jeopardize hatchlings lives because you're inexperienced. Get a hatchling as your first snake, maybe :)