Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

boo.i.see.you

Not so new Member
Reaction score
I am aware there has been multiple threads on the OPMV topic, I hope I can get some help...
I have been keeping reptiles for a couple of years now, but i have recently purchased a coastal carpet from a "breeder" that I have not dealt with before.
I am almost certain that it has the OPMV virus. (mouth open, lack of muscle tone and writhing)
It has been in quarantine since bringing it home, but am now worried about the rest of my collection.
Is there anything I can do to save the rest of my collection.

Take the new one to an experienced reptile vet and get a proper diagnosis then take it further from there. How safe the rest of your collection is depends on what you actually mean by quarantine and whether your quarantine process has broken down at any stage.

Take the new one to an experienced reptile vet and get a proper diagnosis then take it further from there. How safe the rest of your collection is depends on what you actually mean by quarantine and whether your quarantine process has broken down at any stage.

Exactly, if your quarantine has been rigorous then you shouldn't have transferred the virus to your other animals.

Definitely need to get the diagnosis confirmed though - with any luck you might not have an viral issue to worry about

From what i understand, although there are common symptoms, there is no way to be certain about OPMV besides post-mortem testing.

The only way to save your collection would be strict quarantine from the beginning. Personally i'd get it to the vet asap, dead or alive, so you know whether or not the rest of your collection will be at risk too.

The coastal went to the vet post Mortem, OPMV was confirmed. (autopsy)