Reptile Rookie! Diamond Python Enclosure Size & Questions

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

alipsticklullaby

Reaction score
Hi everyone!
This is my first post on AussiePythons so I'm a bit new to all this.
I've always loved snakes and I was recently given a tank by a friend (see attached pic).
It has sliding doors at the front and the size is 50cm X 2 feet X 1 foot.

I really want to get a Diamond Python so I was wondering how long I'd be able to keep one
in a tank this size before I'd have to upgrade? Also what other pythons would fit in a tank
this size? It's my first reptile so I'm looking for something that won't be too complex to look
after.

I really want something with a good temperament - although I'm aware that depends ultimately
on the individual snake.

If anyone has any advice, it would be much appreciated!

Loz

Attachments

• photo.jpg
    photo.jpg
    65 KB · Views: 187
welcome :)

i'd say about a year or so, gives you plenty of time to work on building something bigger (or buying). Remember to give abit of height as diamonds do like to have a climb

diamonds are awesome snakes :D

Hey :D Great choice for a first snake! Diamonds are gorgeous and have a very docile temperment. Even in the wild they are quite reluctant to bite :)
you could house a hatchie-yearling in that enclosure but then you'd have to upgrade to something like a 3fx2ftx6ft (LxWxH)....well that is what I would house an adult diamond in anyway :p

It depends on the age and size of the python that you wish to get. That tank would be big enough for any hatchling Australian python species (too big in most cases) for at least a year or so.
That tank would sufficiently house a yearling to sub-adult Diamond for a year or two depending on how much you feed it/how fast it grows.

A few more questions..