Stabilizing the temperature in your DIY Click Clack

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

bugeye23

Not so new Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, im new to the reptile world and have built my 2 click clacks the other day. They are both plastic containers with holes through the sides made by a soldering iron. I also have a 14w heat matt underneath them. I haven't even got my snakes yet:cry:

I have noticed over the past couple of days that at night time the heat would drop quite a bit inside the click clack. Which got me thinking of how i could make the click clack a nicer place for my snake at night and in general.

Basically all i did was wrap the outside of the click clack with ordinary everyday newspaper (just one layer).

So far i have found that the temperature is alot more stable at night and when i take the lid off and on it heats up quicker. I also think that the snake will enjoy the added privacy, so he doesnt feel like he is being watched.

Hope this helps anyone out that was having the same issues.

I don't personally see a problem with a drop in temp at night, it's more natural, as long as it's not dropping to 5c

Yeah you may be right, i am caught in between what people say the temperature should be and what it is like in the wild..
Obviously the temperature will still drop a little bit.

Don't get me wrong, I'm not advocating full on natural replication, It's not something I believe can be done in an indoor enclosure, I don't believe in sticking to 10c temp gradients either. I believe in a basking spot to a temp that suits the species, heaps of ventilation for ambient temp and room for the snake to pick where it wants to be. Mine all have 24/7 heat, but they also have so much ventilating that they can feel a night time drop.