Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

luke_84

Reaction score
wondering if anyone has a few suggestions, maybe even some pics on what gecko i should get for my first???
im fairly new to herps and have a juvie jungle and a pair of pygmy beardies, but i really want to get some nice looking geckos, im in sydeny with class 1 license, any help and pics would be great...
cheers luke

like all reptiles search into them. find one u like. the easyest gecko is milli millie or the bearking gecko

i only keep oedura castelnaui, so i can only comment on them!
there great geckos, hardy, easy to look after and show great patterns/colouration.

i can also suggest two websites which really helped me in the search for my first geckos.

theres great articles and pictures on www.aussiegeckos.com which is owned by Troy Webb (ari)

also cant go past geckodans site www.geckodan.com both of them are really well set out provide great info and pictures.

For an easy to care for and doesnt require heating etc go for a Thick tail gecko, otherwise if heating is not a problem then go for anything depending on your budget. If you want something you can see throughout the day go for a Strophurus as they require lighting and will bask on a branch. The Oedura are great and active of a night. I have thick tails, a couple of types of Oedura and golden tails and they are all great.

I dont find U. millii all that interesting so i'd go with something like N. levis, H. binoei or and of the Diplodactylus species

If you ask me you can't go past levis for a beginner gecko, they are cute, active and hardy.