Write up - my Live jungle enclosure

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Insane

Not so new Member
Reaction score
Gday all,

I am fairly new to the herp keeping world, I got my awesome jungle girl about 7-8 weeks ago.

when I was setting up her enclosure, I read, a LOT of information, and it seemed that 99% of people kept their snakes in a sterile environment and used carpet etc for their enclosures.

I personally believe that the closer you can bring an animal to its natural habitat, the more natural behaviours that animal will begin to display.

Thats my reasoning for using a live environment for my baby.

Resources - The art of keeping snakes, by Phillippe de Vosjoli
- Natural Terrariums, by Phillip Purser
- The Internet, a lot, lot of different, awesome sites out there. I can provide a list of sites I used as resources if anyone wants them.

so, on with some pictures I guess.
IMG_6487.jpg

This is an over-all view of the enclosure. you can see my water-bowl in the front center, and you can see the make-up of the bioactive substrate, it includes a layer of terracotta rubble in the bottom, to provide drainage, followed by a folded over layer of shadecloth, followed by a few inches of substrate. the substrate material is around 70% unfertilized coco-peat, and 20% sphagnum moss, and 10% leaf litter. As you can see in the picture above, it is quite moist, and the layer of leaf litter over the top retains moisture within the substrate, and provides a dry surface for my baby to lie on.

So far this substrate has passed all the checks for bio-active. If you feel it, it is no longer sticky to the touch, and it no longer sticks to the snake, it has quite a silky feel (from the micro-organisms apparently)

IMG_6485.jpg