Bredli or Murray Darling as first python?

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

MurrayDarling101

Not so new Member
Reaction score

Hey everyone, im new to python keeping and am wondering whether to get a Murray darling or a Bredli as my first python??.
Here are a few questions that id appreciate if someone can answer:

Ive heard that bredli's are more aggressive than MD'S? is this true?

If I was to get more into this hobby of keeping pythons what would be the eaiser species to breed? Murray darlings or Bredli's?

Are bredli's aggressive?

Are murray darlings aggressive?

How often should I feed them if I was to get 1?

How long should I handle them for each day or week?

Any aswers would be great thanks everyone!

As for aggressiveness goes, that depends on the snake, how it is treated and how much food its getting. If you handle them often, they will learn to tolerate being held and wont be as aggressive as a snake who never gets held. A hungry snake is going to try to eat you fingers most likely so give the right size food. Or you could get a snake who just hates being touched at all. So no two snake is really MORE aggressive. But most people tend to go with a stimpsons, spotted or any form the chidlreni types. Mainly because they are small.

I wouldn't even think about breeding as too much can go wrong. If you need to ask how much to feed a snake, then just forget about breeding for at least 3 years till you get some knowledge. Hatch-lings are animals, not money.

As for food, feeding a hatchling every 4-5 days an appropriate size food item. So any food item no bigger than the thickest part of the snake is a good guide, or 20% of its body weight.