need HELP!

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

lachie123

Reaction score
Hey all, i have a 14mo old stimmie(coral) she is in a 600x400x500 enclosure, mainly wooden with flexiglas sides and front doors. i have a vent on both sides and a heatmat under 1/3 of the tank. i am new to all this and am wondering if i should add in some sort of heat globe/lamp/basking light or whatever(so confusing..). Apparently that would make it come out more! :)
few questions;
- would, say a 50w infrared globe inside with a cage around it running during the day along with the heatmat going 24/7 be good?
- what is a good thermostat to get? and can thermostats control 2 heat sources? e.g infrared lamp and heatmat.
ill add some pictures. ANY HELP APPRICIATED, IM KINDA FRUSTRATED :(
IMG_8332.jpgIMG_8331.jpgIMG_8330.jpg

arnt they nocturnal

Yep, indeed they are! You've got a snake that will probably never bask like a Carpet python will do, so just get used to the fact that it will likely move around only at night.

Jamie

I have a heat lamp for my spotted and find her activity did not increase as to when I was not using one.

Sent from my LG-P690f using Tapatalk 2

Nope they dont need the lights. I only have them on a few hours at night and turn them off at about 730.

if you have a heat mat and it is setup with a thermostat then really that is all you need.
I don't use lights or heating at all other than my heatmats for my snakes.

okay cool, so a heat pad with a thermonstat set at like 31 with the probe in the middle of the tank is all i need?

okay cool, so a heat pad with a thermonstat set at like 31 with the probe in the middle of the tank is all i need?