Rats V's Mice, which is better?

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Manda1032

Very Well-Known Member
Reaction score
The question is;

Which is better to feed your snake, Rats or Mice?

The reasons behind this question/ debate. I have been keeping for 6 years now. Recently I've decided I'd like a new addition to my brood. There are many wants and desires but I'm being smart and thinking of what room I have and it's future needs etc. Many years ago when I use to live in Townsville, food got scarce and I decided to by some rats and mice and breed my own. The mice bred like... well mice! The rats on the other hand found most disturbances too much and would abandon their bubs and stop breeding (mostly thanks to the cat two doors down that always found a way in and sat on their cage). For the last couple of years I have sucessfully bred a small hoarde of mice, replacing the genes every 6 months or so. My freezer is full, my cages are full and with some fine tuning over that time finding enclosures that worked really well. They breed like crazy, don't care about the foxes, cats and other feral rodents that frequent where I live. Something that rats would mind.

So the other day I found an ad in the paper for BHP's. I'm like OMG one of my desires, possibly local to purchase. Phoned up and asked the usual questions, where are you, how old are they, what are you feeding them etc. its the last one that shot my confidence dead. I was told that I shouldn't be feeding my babies mice, they are not good enough and I'd never get them onto rats (PS 4 of my 5 snakes gladly eat both rats and mice). I should put them on rats and stay on rats. They (mice) aren't as nutritional for snakes as rats and I pretty much got the feeling that if I don't get rats I won't get a snake.