Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Warren

Reaction score
I'm a novice and joined this website hoping to find some answers so sorry for silly questions to follow.

A few days ago, I found some what I believe to be snake skin in my backyard. The skin were found in and around a newly built pond, on a ladder leading up to a tree-house in large mango tree (these ones were larger scale bits and creamy in colour which I think are from the belly of the snake), as well as some in the forks of the mango tree. There's plenty of possums in the area and a couple of large birds nests (which are empty) in the mango tree. I keep finding each morning snake skin inside the pond. From reading the other posts on this website I assume the snake is soaking himself to assist in the shedding process.

I think (and hoping) it might be a carpet snake. I live in inner city Brisbane and have never come across any snakes in the area previously. I have found blue tongues lizards in my backyard before but they obviously do not climb trees so that rules them out.

I've attached some pics to help in identification. Now a really silly question, are there any venomous snakes that are arboreal? If there are then I will need a professional to come and remove because small kids and venomous snakes don't live well together. If it's a carpet then I'm happy to leave him there.

G'day Warren, I'm not the best at IDing sheds, but it looks almost identical to a shed I have from a Carpet Python.

re Snakes

Dicco said:
G'day Warren, I'm not the best at IDing sheds, but it looks almost identical to a shed I have from a Carpet Python.
Clever ID Dic :p

Yes, definately a python, presumably a Carpet if they live in the area.

.. and yes there are venomous arboreal snakes, but this is not one of them so no need to worry.