Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Diamond_newbie

Not so new Member
Reaction score
So I'm new to owning snakes and I've done LOTS of research, even took my little guy to the reptile vet less than 24 hours after getting him just to check he was healthy.

I've had Earl, my ten month old diamond python, three weeks now. Prior to picking him up he had not been fed in a month. First feed I gave him, he pooped four days later. Now he is being fed each Saturday, but no more poop!? That's three feeds total and only a poop after first one.

He seems happy, is a good feeder and I can't feel any lumps or obstructions. I'm pretty sure I haven't just missed a poop either.

is this ok? Should I be worried? It seems googling "when should my snake poop" doesn't help me too much! Is it just that he needs a while to get into a schedule?

any help much appreciated!
Jojo x

congrats on the diamond pics!?
what are you feeding him? is there a noticeable lump after you feed him??
and what are your temps?
* woops my bad i misread post*... he could be going into shed and holding on until he sheds?

Last edited:
I feed my md weekly, depending on size of meals, she may only poop once every three to four weeks, or every second day lol..

There is a noticeable lump after feeding. First two feeds I gave him a small pinky rat. Last Saturday I gave him a larger pinky rat (shocking the size difference from one seller to the next). He sort of played with it a bit like he was trying to work out how to swallow it, but eventually swallowed it.

The food size he is on now is slightly wider than the widest part of his body.

I will add that a day after I first fed him I found what I'm pretty sure was hard urates, like the feed kick started his digestive system.