Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

kaitira

Reaction score
Hi all,
I am a student at James Cook University and im involved in a group developing an educational development resource for high school students with a focus on
biodiversity and natural icons. We are going to investigate this area by looking at the introduction and impact of feral species particularly the cane toad.
What I was hoping is that someone out there has seen first hand the impact cane toads are having on our reptiles or amphibians. If anyone has, I would greatly appreciate a statement of what you have seen and how they are affecting our reptiles or amphibians, basically how they are affecting Australia’s biodiversity. We need to involve community organisations which is why I am asking here at Aussie Pythons.

cant help with that specific question but check out Rick Shines website, if you cant find it go through usyd site, he is the leading researcher on the toads and has a bucket load of papers on them and their effects etc.

I'm not sure if its helpful... but here goes; During the dry season, our dam level often gets quite low, and when it does it is very easy to see tiny native baby frogs hopping around on the muddy areas. However, if the dam is visited again a few days later, quite often there will be an incredibly large number of baby cane toads, and virtually all of the natives have gone.

you could also look at the impact that the asian house gecko is haveing on the native geckos as well
i know a bit about were thay came from and how thay got here and the impacts thay have