Angry Coastal help

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Pauly

Not so new Member
Reaction score
Hi there,

I'm fairly new to all of this and I tried the search function and could not find anything encouraging.

I have a 9 month old or so coastal python who I have had for about 3 weeks and he seems to have a fairly nasty/scared temper. I have read that this can calm down as they get older (2 years?) but I have also seen plenty of photos of coastals on here being held and looking quite content whilst being wrapped around the hand of their handler.
Anytime I want to pick mine up, he either tries to bite me or sits still in position ready to strike, not looking anything like to picture of calmness I see in some of these photos???

Is it too early to tell whether he will always have this temperament or do I just need to chill out for a while longer and continue to pull him out of his cage every couple of days and dodge his attempts to bite me? (My only concern with this is stressing him out as it doesnt look like he is enjoying his little outtings too much.)

The person I bought him from obviously new what she was doing and I have no doubt he was taken care of, but I dont think he had much of a chance to get used to handling etc either, so im guessing this is the main issue.

I have the cage in a fairly high traffic area of the house in an attempt to let him see us regularly in the hope he might see we arent out to hurt him. Im not sure if this is a waste of time either?

Any help is welcomed.

Thanks in advance.

Pauly

To be honest it sounds like the animal didn't have time to settle in before you started handling and since it was a little snappy you are probably nervous about handling it from here on end.