Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

mrbaggins

Reaction score
First off, Hi. I'm a High School teacher in Wagga NSW and have recently gotten it into my head that I'd like a pet snake. I've done a whole heap of research and just wanted to clarify a few things.

I'm looking at getting a Children's or Spotted python as a first snake. I'm also looking at getting a second one later that I would like to keep in the same enclosure as the first (friendliness between specimens permitting). With this in mind, I've been looking at pre-fab vivariums of assorted sizes.

Based on what I've read, I'm looking at the 60x45x45cm (24x18x18") Exo Terra PT2610 enclosure (121L or 32Gal total capacity). It appears to have all the requisite features, and is big enough for two but not waaaaay to big for a young one. Is this right? Or should I look at making a click clack til it's bigger, or should I look at bigger enclosures?

I've priced a large number of things. Substrates, heat pads, thermostats, thermometers, hydrometers (Haven't read much about these. Really needed?) the light canopy for the enclosure (Uses standard screw in fittings, so can mount any fluro, UV or incandescent light), the bulbs for the canopy, water bowls, hiding holes, branches, plants, the actual snake itself, price of frozen food... It's a rather long list.

I've also read all the licensing fees/conditions and import requirements if I buy from interstate.

Have I accounted for everything?

As for specific questions (and I know this post is getting quite long, thanks for sticking with it):