Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.
S

SlytherinGirl

Hi there,

I am 14 years old and am looking for my first snake. :D I was extreemly surprised when my mum (a complete anti-snake person) seemed to go along with my longing for a pet snake, and have been encouraging the thought ever since.

I am in NSW and am looking for a snake that would be suitable to a complete newbie to the snake world (I have been doing my research, but have absolutely no previous snake experience). Large snakes (like the so-called gentle-giant, the Coastal Carpet) are out, and I'm currently looking at an Antaresia (Spotted, Childrens or Stimson's). I'm leaning towards the Spotted, but from what I've heard, the only real difference is length.
Are the Antaresia nice snakes (both in temperment and appearance)? My mum is mostly concerned with appearance, and wants to stray as far as possible from a snake that looks anything like our local Brown Snakes (evil little things). I've noticed that their patterns seem to fade over time, and I do like a patterned animal. But I'm also keeping an eye on ease of care, feeding habits and such.

I hope that you guys can all help me make my final snakey decision. I'm sorry for the mega-post, but I just wanted to get my words out there.

I'm looking forward to a great time with APS.
Thanks!

Personally, I think you should go for a Centralian or a Diamond. Both have very good temperament and awesome colours! Very easy to care for as they only need to be fed once a week. The difference between the two is that diamonds need a UV light.

If appearence is a big factor, you're better off with a Spotted or Stimson's. Children's tend to lose some of their pattern and colour after shedding.