Just Another Stupid Conversion (lots of pics)

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

saximus

Almost Legendary
Reaction score
This is my first attempt at one of these; all of my other enclosures are made from scratch. It is going to be for my albino Darwin so I wanted something a bit fancier that is all black to contrast with her colours. I cheated with the "paint" and went for pond sealer. It has small particles in it so it gives a really cool rough texture and it's the perfect mixture of gloss and matte for my taste. It also means I don't have to use another sealer afterwards to make it water/poo proof.
So here it is. I hope you guys like it.

Before I started mutilating it:
Untitled.jpg

After a coat of paint and a litter dam:
Untitled-1.jpg

Added the top basking shelf:
Untitled-2.jpg

TVCabinet4.jpg

Added the lower basking shelf:
TVCabinet5.jpg

Shower drains make quite nice looking air vents:
TVCabinet6.jpg

A couple of coats of paint for the shelves and the front frame, installed the heat emitter and some glass tracks:
TVCabinet8.jpg

Some LED strip lighting all the way around the inside:
TVCabinet10.jpg

The (almost) finished product:
TVCabinet9.jpg

I just need to bribe a friend who works with glass to make me some doors and it will be done.

Total cost: about $250 including heat emitter and using scrap melamine and dowel I had from old projects.

Hey Saximus, I'm converting almost the exact piece of furniture atm. Mine is the taller version though (2100mm). I'm planning to leave it the woodgrain colour and to divide the lowest section for storage and a hiddy hole for my Bredli. What are you planning to us for heat?