Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Charmaine23

Reaction score
Hi I'm charmaine and I'm new here.

I turned 20 yesterday and my mum agreed to my fiancée getting me a pet snake. We already applied for a license so were just waiting for that to go through and we'll be all set.

The question now, what do you think is the best kind of snake to start off with? Easy to maintain and prefect for beginners like me. Also, where is the best place to get them? I'm new at this so I'll be needing all the help I can get to start off!

Thanks in advance guys!

The best snake to get is the one that you like the best :D. As long as 1) you can afford the room to house it and be comfortable with its size and 2) its available for your appropriate license, then all are fine to start with. All the pythons available to beginners are very basic to care for.

Best place to get one is to find a reputable breeder close to you who will be happy to help with any follow up care.

I had a Stimson python to begin with. I still think Stimmies and Children's are the best to start with despite that view being torn to sheds on many threads. Check the thread in DIY for how to set up a click clack if you're getting a hatchie, which is the best idea if you're worried about their size intimidating you. You grow together and build trust.
Snakes are as different as people, some don't like being handled, some are defensive of their enclosures, some will bite you and others are like big affectionate noodles.